Roman Poncet – Focal (ep) 

  • Label : Figure
  • Artist : Roman Poncet
  • Remixers : No
  • Title : Focal (ep)
  • Cat. : FIGURE X18
  • Vinyl Release: March 2020
  • Digi Release : –
  • Tracklist :
  1. He Comes For You
  2. Taal
  3. Sofra
  4. Focal

Roman Poncet back on full form, delivering his next EP for Figure. These four tracks are testament to his mastery of many styles while working as nuanced and meticulous as ever. Each track inhabits a singular drive or momentum, outgrowing the confines of pure techno tools.Take opener He Comes For You, a muscular example of a dynamic and spacious building block, keeping the energy leveled and ready to move wherever it may be needed. Coming in a close second, Taal nods towards housy structures, clocking in a fast and playful attitude within a strict techno‘s framework.

Sofra is harnessing the anthemic power of trance-style synths while not overplaying the old school card in favor of letting Poncet‘s slick sound design do its work. Finally, dubbed-out beauty Focal ushers this record out smoothly, its echoing chords glistening effortlessly atop a powerful low-end bassline.

Available  at bandcamp.

12″ black vinyl w/ full cover print.
Artwork: ‘Nest’ by Janette Philips
Layout: Yusuf Etiman
Mastered by Walter Coelho.
Cut: Schnittstelle Berlin
Vinyl pressed at Intakt Berlin.