Diego Krause – Unison wax 03

  • Label: Unison Wax
  • Artist: Diego Krause
  • Remixers: No
  • Title: Unison Wax 03
  • Cat.: UW03
  • Vinyl Release: Jan 2015
  • Digi Release: No
  • Tracklist :
  1. A1
  2. A2
  3. B1
  4. B2

Having seen the first two releases on his self-run Unison Wax label win plaudits from critics and contemporaries alike, Berlin’s Diego Krause starts 2015 with a fresh EP of deep and textured house music.

A1 opens the EP in style, its deep sunken bassline and clamouring percussion underpinning intoxicatingly woozy chords and a soulful vocal sample. Demonstrating Diego’s ability to pen strong groove-led house tracks, it exemplifies the headsdown vibes that we’ve come to expect from him.

The breaks-orientated A2 offers up a new dimension to Krause’s production skills. Here, sharp drum breaks punch out a funk-tipped rhythm accompanied by a sweetened melody.

If A2 reveals Krause’s hip-hop roots, then B1 evokes the producer’s schooling in New York and New Jersey deep house. A chopped up vocal samples loops over terse drums, a warm sub-bass and a Fender Rhodes sounding chord hook. The emergence of a nebulous piano refrain completes the package, making for a track that is both soulful and playful.

B2 closes the EP in style. Tumbling hi-hats and reverb-licked bass patterns are joined by a wistful melody that finds Krause exploring the emotive juxtaposition between up-tempo and down-tempo sounds. The result is a subterranean house jam that will fan the white-hot embers of a 6am dance- floor.

With 2014 having seen the Berliner tipped as a big name in the making, Unison Wax 03 offers up four tracks set to add to that momentum propelling Diego Krause further onwards and upwards.

All tracks are written and produced by Diego Krause.
Mastering by Mathieu Berthet
Photo-Art by Konstantin Mappes