This is Bass Culture: 4 years of Bass Culture Records mixed by D’Julz



Label: Bass Culture

Release date: 24 January, 2014

The respected imprint presents a carefully curated compilation of its finest moments over the past four years, including three fresh and unreleased tracks from Cassy & D’Julz, Mr Tophat & Art Alfie and Chris Simmonds.

Over the past four years D’Julz has established his Bass Culture label as a reputable source of high quality house music. The overarching ethos has been one of staying true to the roots of the music, encapsulating D’Julz’s vision of house – encompassing its many different styles with driving, groovy bass always present at the very core of each release. In fact coming from a dub influence, it’s that bottom-heavy focus, the low-end rhythm, that D’Julz considers to be crucial to his label’s output.

Before it became a label, Bass Culture started as D’Julz’s own residency at Paris Rex Club and is still today the longest running night at the Paris’s most famous venue, Rex Club, and for that reason there remains a very close bond between the two. In fact, the very spirit of Bass Culture night; its electrifying atmosphere, its supporters and extended family are embedded in the foundations of Bass Culture, feeding into its very own spirit and helping to shape the label into what it has become today.

Bass Culture is now widely recognised as one of the most reliable house music labels out there, just as D’Julz himself is highly regarded as both a DJ and producer – the label has found favour with many of the industry’s most respected tastemakers, both new and old. With this in mind, Bass Culture’s first compilation consolidates its past, present and future into one must-have collection that represents house music at its very best and illustrates exactly what the label is all about.

On this carefully curated selection of Bass Culture releases you’ll discover a variety of styles, from house and techno stalwart Mr.G’s ridiculously infectious ‘Got That Swing’ with its pumping kicks and absorbing vocal, to the grumbling darkness of the gravely bass and languid percussion of Joel Alter’s ‘Rules Of Love’, which features the haunting vocals of Eric D Clark, a total contrast to the jaunty nature of Oleg Poliakov’s ‘Besides’. Other tracks come from such talents as Alex Picone, Rio Padice, The Analogue Cops, Franco Cinelli, Mr Tophat & Art Alfie.

Not forgetting the bossman D’Julz himself who contributes one of his own compositions, ‘Da Madness (2013 Mix)’, stamping his mark on the collection and letting everyone know that, as well as being an expert selector, he can also roll out the kind of house music that makes even the most ardent connoisseurs go weak at the knees. This comes accompanied by a collaboration with one of the queens of house and techno, the inimitable Cassy – taken from the duo’s forthcoming EP.

A little while back, a French journalist once misinterpreted the name of the label, confusing ‘Bass’ with ‘Basse’. Funnily enough though, ‘basse’ translates to ‘sub’ in English – something which D’Julz could only find amusingly coincidental, for ‘Sub Culture’ could also be the perfect name for his label. It’s underground and uncompromising in its stance, supporting only the most sincere house and techno.

This pure sound is the throbbing heartbeat of Bass Culture and you can expect to find it in each and every track that has been chosen to appear on the compilation… This Is Bass Culture.

4 years of Bass culture records mixed by D’Julz – tracklist

1) Kasper – Jaia (Fred P. Remix) BCR034 [00.00]
2) Joel Alter – Rules Of Love (DJ Qu Remix) BCR020 [5.49]
3) Joel Alter – Silence Is Golden BCR013 [9.38]
4) Rio Padice – Deeptstation BCR009 [15.37]
5) Mr Tophat & Art Alfie – Ressle’s Restroom BCR039* [18.40]
6) John Jastszebski – Work BCR028 [22.13]
7) Franco Cinelli – Home BCR017 [27.33]
8) Chris Simmonds – The Way U Want 2 B (instrumental mix) BCR038* [30.25]
9) Anonym – Lov Is Easy (D’Julz Edit) BCR006 [35.18]
10) Cassy & D’Julz – What U See in Me BCR040* [40.04]
11) D’Julz – Da Madness (2013 mix) – BCR033 [47.04]
12) The Analog Cops & Alex Picone – Out Of Passion BCR029 [51.16]
13) Mr G – Got That Swing BCR019 [56.05]
14) Mr G – Sunday Blues (Kasper Remix) BCR010 [1.01.10]
15) Oleg Poliakov – Besides BCR007 [1.06.05]
*Denotes new track upcoming on Bass Culture