Jovonn – The

  • Label : Apolloniaa-macaron_apollonia_12_RVB
  • Artist : Jovonn
  • Title : The (EP)
  • Cat. : APO012
  • Vinyl Release : April 2014
  • Digital Release : No
  • Tracklist :

A1.Jovonn ft Gina – Trippin body n deep vox mix
B1.Jovonn – The March
B2.Jovonn ft Gina – Trippin body n deep dub mix

After an astounding year for Apollonia storming all corners of the earth, the three welcomed further success with a momentous fiesta at BPM to commence 2014. Working the label in tandem, the list of pioneers featured thus far – POINT G, Callisto and Kerri Chandler – is mighty impressive. Jovonn is a name that sits naturally alongside them, the difference being that the forthcoming EP on Apollonia is not a repress but juicy new productions.

A highly respected international DJ and producer hailing from Brooklyn, Jovonn made his mark within the underground House scene with classics such as “I Can’t Make Up My Mind”, “Garage Shelter”, and the standout collaboration with DJ Deep “Back In the Dark”. An intrinsic inspiration to the Apollonia trio, a personal relationship first formed at WMC Miami last year. Enjoying a production comeback following music on Dogmatik and La Vie En Rose in 2013, talk of working with Apollonia has fruitfully resulted in “The EP”.

Proving he can still produce a House bomb with ease, “Trippin” is a Jovonn future classic dripping in sexy hushed vocals, with a dub alternative that sticks to the track’s fundamentals. “The March” journeys forward into the deepness of dreamy synths, while the contagious beats lure you into a swinging metronome effect. In the words of Jovonn, “it’s spiritual.”

Catch Jovonn playing alongside Apollonia at Treehouse on 24th March, as part of this year’s WMC Miami festivities.